Tenant Possessions’ Landlord Legal ResponsibilitiesThe Disposition of Personal Property Landlord and Tenant Act, found in the Florida Statutes, Sections 715.10-715.111, provides guidelines for what you can and cannot do with personal property that’s been left behind by a former renter. As you might imagine, it prohibits property owners and/or managers from simply throwing out things. In other words, although the tenant is long gone, you just can’t trash it.
Dirty tenants can be landlord’s nightmare, and oh boy, are they expensive! They can bring down the real and perceived value of your rental property. Unclean living conditions will not only damage the property, but they will attract bugs and rodents, and ultimately make it very difficult to re-rent. If you learn to spot a dirty tenant before they become your tenant, you will be able to save yourself a lot of grief. —Landlordology.comBut, you aren’t exactly out of options. You do have rights. The trick is to simply go by the rule of law and follow through responsibly. This way, you don’t unwittingly get yourself into a bind over something that’s really not worth the time and effort. So, go straight and narrow and that will pay off big time.
Renters’ Junk Removal Guide for Vamo Property OwnersWhen it comes to doing a rental cleanout, there are some things you should do. If a tenant does leave some of their biggest personal possessions behind, this is what you need to know about renters’ junk removal:
- Separate trash from the tenant’s personal possessions. Under Florida law, any junk and/or trash can be thrown out. Have the furniture set aside temporarily while the home is being disinfected, cleaned, and repaired.
- Put the tenant’s furniture in storage. As mentioned above, you are legally obligated to hold onto a tenant’s furniture. So, just put all the furniture in storage and keep it clearly marked so you know which items are which.
- Send a letter to the tenant. You should send a letter to your former tenant, informing him or her their stuff is in storage and it’s their responsibility to come and get it.
- Wait at least 15 days. Under the law, you’ll have to wait 15 days to dispose of the tenant’s furniture. Thereafter, if you can’t sell it, you can have it taken to the local landfill. Be sure to read over state statutes to ensure that you’re not out of compliance with the law.